Stormy Weather, Stormy Weather

I love Etta James’ voice. I could listen to her silky songs all day long. A large amount of her songs are topics that I don’t genuinely relate to, but it doesn’t make me appreciate the songs any less.

Her singing  “Stormy Weather,”  and tells of the despair and longing for better weather, which is the symbol that her man has come back to her.

The weather in Wichita Kansas today is intermittent thunderstorms, when I saw the sky today, her song came into my mind. RoaringSky

“Stormy Weather”

Don’t know why
There’s no sun up in the sky
Stormy weather
Since my man and I ain’t together
Keeps raining all of the time

Oh yeah, life is bad
Gloom and misery everywhere
Stormy weather, stormy weather
And I just can get my poor self together
Oh, I’m weary all of the time
The time, so weary all of the time

When he went away
The blues walked in and met me
Oh yeah, if he stays away
Old rockin’ chair is gonna get me
All I do is pray, the Lord will let me
Walk in the sun once more

Oh, I can’t go on, can’t go on, can’t go on
Everything I have is gone
Stormy weather, stormy weather
Since my man and I
Me and my daddy ain’t together
Keeps raining all of the time

Oh oh, keeps raining all of the time
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, raining all of the time
Stormy, stormy, stormy weather, yeah

 

The song “Stormy Weather” was originally a jazz instrumental piece written in 1933, written by Harold Arlen with Ted Koehler who later added lyrics. Sang first by Ethel Waters at the Cotton Club in Harlem. Later that year it was sung by many other artists. Now, years later, famous musicians such as Frank Sinatra, Duke Ellington and Billie Holliday have also recorded versions. There was a movie made with the same name in 1943 with the song as its title track.

I still prefer Etta James’ version.

 

Stay dry out there Kansas!

One thought on “Stormy Weather, Stormy Weather”

Leave a Reply

